University of Canterbury


The University of Canterbury in Christchurch is New Zealand’s second oldest university. Founded in 1873 by professors Charles Cook, Alexander Bickerton, and John Macmillan Brown, it operates its main campus in the suburb of Ilam.

Establishment: The University of Canterbury was founded in 1873 by scholars of Cambridge and Oxford universities.

Student strength: The university has 16,000 students and more than 1,200 international students from over 80 countries.

Ranking: Canterbury is one of the top 3 universities in New Zealand. In the QS World rankings (2012), it was ranked 221 overall and in the top 100 in the world in Accounting and Civil Engineering and in the top 200 in the world in Engineering (Chemical, Electrical and Electronic), Earth and Marine Sciences, Education, Environmental Studies, Communication and Media Studies, Psychology, Geography, Linguistics, Modern Languages, and Economics.

Address: 20 Kirkwood Ave, Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Enrollment: 14,872 (2013)
Phone: +64 3-366 7001
Founded: 1873