Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur


Indian Institute of Technology KanpurInstitute Overview

Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, established in 1959, is one of the premier institutions established by the Government of India. The aim of the Institute is to provide meaningful education, to conduct original research of the highest standard and to provide leadership in technological innovation.



तमसो मा ज्योतिर्गमय


Undergraduate students: 3938

Graduate students: 2540


Area: 1055 Acres

No. of buildings: 108

Nearly all IITK students live on campus.


Number of publications (average, per faculty) in 2013: 2.58

Number of PhD students registered (average, per faculty) in 2013: 3.32

Research funding (average, per faculty) in 2013: Rs.1.9 million

Number of patents filed in 2013: 57


Faculty members: 406

Faculty awardees: Our faculty are the recent recipients of major National and International awards. These include Padma Shri, Infosys Prize, Humboldt Research Award, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, TWAS Prize, National J.C. Bose Fellowship, Fulkerson Prize, Goedel Prize, National Academy of Sciences (NASc), Indian National Science Academy (INSA), Indian Academy of Science (FASc), Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), Swaranajayanti Fellowship.

Students to faculty ratio: 15.46


The Kanpur Indo-American Programme (KIAP) from 1962 to 1972 at IIT Kanpur was set up to collaborate closely with the outside world and thereby keep pace with the ever changing world of science and technology. Under the Kanpur Indo-American Programme (1962-1972), the Institute received technical assistance under KIAP from a consortium of nine leading institutions of U.S.A. The institutions are listed below:

California Institute of Technology

Carnegie Institute of Technology

Case Institute of Technology

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ohio State University

Princeton University

Purdue University

University of California at Berkley

University of Michigan


Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Kanpur -208 016
Telephone Enquiry
Phone: 0512-259 0151